Skip to content

My Best Friend’s Wedding

September 19, 2010

It was after a good year, that we gathered for our best friend’s wedding. By we, I mean the 7 stars (we call ourselves) including the groom. I had imagined a wonderful experience during the first one’s wedding amongst the 7. Nevertheless, we had a great time. But, reality doesn’t always match your dreams. This post wasn’t an instinctive one. I had to write this down because in future I want to remember how big the day was.

I donno if it was a coincidence. The marriage was fixed on a big festival day. The entire street was buzzing with Vinayaka Chaturthi and Tirupathi Kodai celebrations. Hence not everyone in the area could stay long in the marriage hall during the reception or the marriage. I reached Chennai on Saturday Morning, the 11th of September. The day will always be significant, thanks to Bin Laden. We had little to do in the morning. We just roamed around Chennai during the afternoon in one of our friend’s car and by evening were ready to attend the reception.

I should say that for our best friend’s wedding we were a little late to reach the kalayana mandapam. It took us quite a lot of time to traverse through those small crooked roads. By the time we reached, the proceedings had already begun. Both the bride and the groom nicely dressed, were smiling along with their friends and relatives and posing for the cameras. We were patiently waiting for our turn.

The wedding was more special because it was a love marriage and I don’t think that the rest 6 of us can ever manage to find a lovable girl ourselves. Maybe, some one will prove me wrong in the next 2 or 3 years, cos we will all be married by that time anyhow. And then we took pictures with the couple and soon went for the kalyana samayal. I was tasting good sambar and rasam after a very long time. Food is always special in marriages in Tamil Nadu. After the meals, we rested for a few minutes and planned for a night show movie. The movie BOSS was a laughter riot and horribly we were only able to manage seats in the front row. It was neck breaking. Thank God, it wasn’t a Star Wars movie. I cannot imagine watching one sitting in the front row barely 10 feet away from a 70mm screen.

It was morning and we had earlier planned to reach the wedding hall by 8 AM. I was woken up by my friends at 7 30 and we were ready by 8 except for one fella. He was always popular among us for being late. The muhurtham was at 8 30. We waited for a few minutes for our last friend and when we thought it could take some time for him to get ready, we started our drive to the mandapam without him. We reached the place in about 15 minutes, but one guy missed  the route and headed straight to some unknown place. We 4 of us were waiting outside the hall, for the wrong route guy 🙂 . Barely 2 minutes after we reached, we heard the final call: when the grooms ties the thali around the bride’s neck. We din’t want to miss that and rushed to the scene. We were able to catch a glimpse of it and were happy for the couple. The bride had tears in her eyes. She was happy.

Another morning meal treat. After sometime with the groom we left for our homes because the celebrations in our street for the kodai was calling us. We had a good day with all our friends and even managed to play a cricket game before rain stopped the play. And poof – all of us went apart in our own ways after that. I am waiting for my next meet which could probably happen this Diwali.

No comments yet

Leave a comment

Tharunreddy

Tharun Reddy

Shame On Me!

Shame on those who are not helping to make this world a better place to live in.

FRANCOIS GAUTIER

THE OFFICIAL BLOG

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Thesis Whisperer

Just like the horse whisperer - but with more pages

Classroom as Microcosm

Siobhan Curious Says: Teachers are People Too

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

I've become my parents

Things my son needs to know before he grows up to be just like me.