Skip to content

I am as old as TED

July 13, 2010

Ideas worth spreading

Yes, I am. That was what first struck me when I visited the TED Facebook page – www.facebook.com/TED.

I heard the term from one of my facebook friends and was wondering what it was. It wasn’t a social networking or a gaming term. Rather, it turned out to be a non-profit foundation for global set of conferences. TED stands for Technology Entertainment and Design. The byliner tells you all – Ideas worth spreading.

I am not sure why or how, the word Idea wakes me up every time I hear it. And with TED’s purpose of spreading Ideas, it was an instant hit with me. I immediately liked it. With a dedicated page on Facebook, it has become easier for people to discuss innovative stuff. There are a lot of videos worth watching and numerous online discussions for debates. And of course, people seem eager about the conferences.

I am yet to explore the stuff thoroughly and gauge the popularity of the term. Nevertheless, at first sight, it seems interesting. The most important thing about the page is that, I could read responses from different people on discussions.

I always have a special liking towards the comments section for any article. In fact, a lot of times, I spend more time reading comments than the main part unless the article is not worthy of skipping. 🙂 . I see a different world in there. Not the usual one.

I have now developed a habit of providing comments (good or bad) to a lot of stuff I read. This gives the author some satisfaction and the next reader extra interest.

I hereby recommend all readers of this article to develop the habit of providing comments to articles which demand attention. It’s a healthy habit though is time consuming.

No comments yet

Leave a comment

Tharunreddy

Tharun Reddy

Shame On Me!

Shame on those who are not helping to make this world a better place to live in.

FRANCOIS GAUTIER

THE OFFICIAL BLOG

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Thesis Whisperer

Just like the horse whisperer - but with more pages

Classroom as Microcosm

Siobhan Curious Says: Teachers are People Too

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

I've become my parents

Things my son needs to know before he grows up to be just like me.