Skip to content

Landmarks and Destinations

May 28, 2010

I can see the Burj Khalifa. It’s sky high and magnificent. I can also see the metro running along my apartment all along the Sheik Zayed Road. Its a modern art.

And then there is the Burj Al Arab. An amazing seven star hotel right in the middle of the sea. And, the Jumeriah. It has an entire stretch of  recognizable hotels, all top class ones with all possible food restaurants. You can also see a lot of yatches parked in the water surrounded by the tallest of buildings in the city.

And then, there are malls, the most common things in Dubai. Huge ones. And also, there are CARs. I am not talking about BMVus, but Hummer s and Bentley s and Rolls Royce s and Bugatti s flying around, waking me up every night with their monstrous sounds.  And then the night clubs. Dollars are poured around the talent here.

Enough of ANDs!! The city has got a lot of specialty. Welcome to Dubai, the next big thing in this part of the world.

I am amazed at the speed of its development. The city has grown multiple folds in the past decade and has become a cultural hub and a shopping center for the world. There are people from around 150 countries at any point of time in Dubai, they say. Dubai, I feel has become self sustainable because of its huge number of westerners who have the reputation to spend more than the Asians. Altogether, a vision has converted a sand land into an oasis.

Women are pretty. Men are rich. Kids are cute. The apartments are costly. As a matter of  fact, its always in millions. There are thousands of such apartments and lakhs who can afford them.

But, my experience here has been pretty ordinary. The nights are long and the days are tiring and am becoming an indolent adult. Four months has passed by like a short lived drizzle. I am here for another 4 days. I feel the one thing which I shouldn’t miss here is the Desert Safari. Hope I’d make it at least this weekend.

No comments yet

Leave a comment

Tharunreddy

Tharun Reddy

Shame On Me!

Shame on those who are not helping to make this world a better place to live in.

FRANCOIS GAUTIER

THE OFFICIAL BLOG

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Thesis Whisperer

Just like the horse whisperer - but with more pages

Classroom as Microcosm

Siobhan Curious Says: Teachers are People Too

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

I've become my parents

Things my son needs to know before he grows up to be just like me.