Skip to content

Drown in the sweltering heat

April 30, 2009

SummerThat’s how I am feeling like for the past one month. The temperatures in the city are shooting up like hell day after day. No signs of slow down. I feel like I’m burning like meat. I can see people flooding shops yearning for fluids. I can see pretty women covering themselves with sunscreens, umbrellas or whatever they hold. Young men somehow brave the sultry afternoons, but the old men, who look departed and incapable of doing anything, start cursing THE SUN. I can also see common men and women on roads being soaked to the skin because of the high humidity in place in Chennai.

Being a coastal area, Chennai experiences a range of climates. From heavy rains to unbearable summers, life is not so comfortable here. But, the people of Chennai never hate the city for such reasons. In fact, they have learnt to live with it. Apart from a considerable population who could afford air conditioners at their homes, a majority of the population feel the heat for most part of the day.

The summers in the city are however a boon for some roadside traders. Suddenly, one could see a lot of vendors selling fluids in the form of juices, water packets or tender coconuts. Except for tender coconuts, whose prices have sky rocketed, all others come cheap.

I have in my previous years endured the heat with much ease. In reality, during summer holidays of my school and college, I have played cricket matches till noon living just on water. But now, for the past 2 years, I find it difficult to sweat it out in the Sun. I blame my air conditioned offices for that. They have made me more of a cold blooded animal.

No comments yet

Leave a comment

Tharunreddy

Tharun Reddy

Shame On Me!

Shame on those who are not helping to make this world a better place to live in.

FRANCOIS GAUTIER

THE OFFICIAL BLOG

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Thesis Whisperer

Just like the horse whisperer - but with more pages

Classroom as Microcosm

Siobhan Curious Says: Teachers are People Too

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

I've become my parents

Things my son needs to know before he grows up to be just like me.