Skip to content

Why I hate to grow old??

September 7, 2010

curious_case_of_benjamin_buttonIt’s because I lose my ignorance. As simple as it gets. While I was younger, I had fewer responsibilities and did not care about how others would think of me. I did what was right for me. I was outspoken, brave enough to take risks and didn’t care about how I looked or how I behaved. And most importantly, there was no distraction. Naturally there was some learning through mistakes. But the problems, they never bugged me for more than a day.

But now it’s always about others. I have to please a lot of futile maniacs for irrelevant things. I have learnt a lot all through these years, but nothing seems to be as liberating as a small poke at my friend in my childhood. In the process, I am losing a lot of ignorance and as a result am being held up in things. I am now made responsible and accountable.

According to me, Ignorance and not fear is the worst enemy of mankind. But, these days, it’s a lot better not to know things. Your mind wanders like a hobo looking for opportunities on whatever you know and most of the times you end up being lost somewhere.

Of course, not all wanderers are losers. But, we wandered without any expectations in our childhood and that was irresistible fun. Interestingly, we made it to the end. It has become highly impossible these days, to tread a path even though we know where it leads. We fear of losing. We fear of embarrassment. We fear of responsibility.

This is my situation after living a good 2 1/2 decades. I wonder how life will approve my future. Why couldn’t we just  grow young over years? Yeah, exactly like Benjamin Button. It would be a pleasure that way. Unfortunately, that’s not possible cos the theory won’t get along with the natural birth and death life cycle. It’s just rosebud on paper.

No comments yet

Leave a comment

Tharunreddy

Tharun Reddy

Shame On Me!

Shame on those who are not helping to make this world a better place to live in.

FRANCOIS GAUTIER

THE OFFICIAL BLOG

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Thesis Whisperer

Just like the horse whisperer - but with more pages

Classroom as Microcosm

Siobhan Curious Says: Teachers are People Too

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

I've become my parents

Things my son needs to know before he grows up to be just like me.