Skip to content

BING does a BINGO.

June 2, 2009

BINGTo some extent. Microsoft has released the beta version of BING, its search engine, aiming to deal with Google’s search market.

Though BING appear to be a lot more catchy and simple, users will still hesitate to discard Google for BING. BING surely has a long way to go. I hope it does not draw the same fate as that of CUIL. CUIL was a disaster. Touted as “the Google killer”, it butchered itself. CUIL’s results were far from matching that of Google’s.

Though it is ultimately difficult to replace Google as my homepage, it has caught my attention a little bit. I might try out bing when Google doesn’t respond to some searches properly. It has happened a lot of times in the recent past to me. With millions of new web pages added daily to the search results, it is increasingly becoming difficult for me to get the right answers. Google still is showing me results dated back to 2003 and 2004.

The image search in BING is better than Google or as good as it. The snippets in the web search too is cool. It has a fresh look and come on guys…lets give MS a chance. It has been trying out for a long time to counter Google without any clues.

There is normally one test which I do to know how good a search index is. I search for my blog items. I just type “aeonian blog” and the results in BING were surprisingly close to that of Google’s. That is cool. I shall give BING a shot from now on.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 26, 2009 11:53 am

    I don’t think that Bing will be successful until Microsoft sort out their indexing issues.

    For example, sites that have almost all their pages indexed in Google have barely 20% indexed in Bing.

    Therefore Bing is not seeing most of the web.

    I wish Microsoft would sort this out – they have millions at their disposal and the brightest people working for them.

Leave a comment

Tharunreddy

Tharun Reddy

Shame On Me!

Shame on those who are not helping to make this world a better place to live in.

FRANCOIS GAUTIER

THE OFFICIAL BLOG

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Thesis Whisperer

Just like the horse whisperer - but with more pages

Classroom as Microcosm

Siobhan Curious Says: Teachers are People Too

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

I've become my parents

Things my son needs to know before he grows up to be just like me.