Skip to content

Books are embalmed minds

April 7, 2009

BooksBooks had been a part of my life since childhood. Even though, I was keen on them, I did not have a chance to read a lot. I had only a small share of them – in fact very small. But now with no limits I don’t have the same urge at books. Life changes for sure.

I had always thought about listing the novels (the list is short) which I read in the recent past here, but thought it would not be interesting. In stead, I came up with this format. I have listed all my likes (but not my dislikes) and future courses of action.

– The one book which when I read, felt very close to my heart – The Alchemist

– The one book which kept me thinking about it till I finished it – I’m sorry. I could not pick one. I wish there could be a choice. A closely fought battle between The Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons

I should talk additionally about these books. The information or according to many ” the fictional facts” were phenomenal. It should have taken a lot of energy out of the author to gather such facts. I loved the information in the books more than their stories.

– The one fictional book which most could believe be practically true – The Firm

– The most absorbing fictional book of my life (till date) – Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s stone

The book was absolutely attention-grabbing. J.K. Rowling once for all dragged me into the magical world. I wished more than Harry Potter himself to be in the Hogwart’s school. No wonder the series is in the all time best seller’s list.

– The one book which I would like to read b4 I die – Difficult to pick one. Hence 2 answers. The Fountain head and Atlas Shrugged.

– Best among Sidney Sheldon’s books (according to me) – If Tomorrow comes.

I’d recommend anyone to read this book on any day. I like the way Sidney Sheldon empowering women in all his novels.

– Best among Jeffery Archer’s books (among those I read) – Kane and Abel

– The book which I’m currently reading – One night @ the call center

– The one subject matter which I’d like to read in the near future – Gangland and its most famous gangsters (it’s d theme and not a book)

– The book which is more interesting on screen than on paper (though I happened to read only half of the first book) – The Bourne Series.

I loved the on screen adaptation of the series very much. Kudos to Matt Damon – fine acting.

– Unavoidable Epics – Ramayana and Mahabharata.

Though I’d prefer to read more of American novels, there are a lot of Indian books which are far more compelling than the foreign ones. My teacher once told me that the Mahabharata is the most complete and the greatest epic written till date and I trust it. I loved the Jungle Book when as a kid got a chance to read it.

Books could be great friends to those who love them. I had a phase in my life when I was thinking more about books than anything else. I admired the authors who brought life before me when I read books. I’d love to read more of them in days to come.

No comments yet

Leave a comment

Tharunreddy

Tharun Reddy

Shame On Me!

Shame on those who are not helping to make this world a better place to live in.

FRANCOIS GAUTIER

THE OFFICIAL BLOG

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Thesis Whisperer

Just like the horse whisperer - but with more pages

Classroom as Microcosm

Siobhan Curious Says: Teachers are People Too

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

I've become my parents

Things my son needs to know before he grows up to be just like me.