Skip to content

Thrilling finish and YES victory tastes sweet

November 24, 2008

It was a pleasant Sunday and I committed myself the entire day for playing cricket, a game which i am better playing at. It was cool in the early morning and bang!!! my frnd called me, when i exactly was expecting his wake up call. I got freshened and had a little something to eat which i popped into my mouth and started out to the more famous BINNY playgrounds.

They were all ready when i reached my mate’s house which was on the way. It was chill and the experience on a bike on such a morning is always memorable. In a flash, we reached the ground which was barely a km away. It had rained the previous night and I thought a game would not be possible. Heavens sake…most part of the ground was in water, but there were places we could play without any difficulty.

When we were at the pitches (any place is a pitch in such a ground!!!but we usually play in a certain area), when the team which routed us 2 weeks back (haha!! i wasn’t there when we lost) called us for a tournament. It wasn’t definitely a tournament considered the number of teams. 4. would you believe that??…but we wanted to play against them and win. The winner takes Rs700. 2 matches, 700 rupees. Was a very good deal for us. So din’t have a second thought. We said “YES”.

Our first match of the two. We won the toss (hardly does any one win toss against us 🙂 ) and elected to bat. “It was a very good toss to win. The conditions were ideal for batting”…oops!!! a typical commentator style..they dropped a few sitters at the beginning and we capitalized on that. The guys played very well and we piled up 72 in 14 overs(I scored some 10 runs…did i??). A major source of runs for us were the bushes….it was the G3s, in local terms for 3 runs granted, when the ball goes into the bushes,which got us plenty of runs. A decent total to defend.

The second innings started and the first over was bowled by another aspiring bowler, who had the shortest run up for a face bowler I had ever seen. It was a good over to start with. The next over was bowled by another medium pacer who hits the pitch hard and extracts bounce. I came next. I should say, I was praying to bowl well, bcos it was sometime since i did that. I bowled well, grabbed a wicket in my first over which also included a run out. My second over wasn’t a rewarding one but din’t give too many runs. Things were good till 6 overs. The opponents scored some 20+ runs in 6 overs. The batsmen took charge on our bowlers and had started to play shots and in no time crossed the fifty run mark. At some point with 4 overs to go, it was 18 runs to win. We found a superb bowler in a fella who is no more than 16 yrs old. He was bowling a great speed with turn, bowling a tennis ball. I should say he bowled a very crucial 4 overs, including a 4 run penultimate over grabbing 3 wickets overall.

I was bowling the 12 over, with 11 to win and 5 wickets in hand. Oh oh…a fiery spell should I say??? I grabbed 3 wickets in that over with just 2 runs conceded. The next over went for 5 runs and a wicket. The last over. Just 4 to win. The first ball went into the air, but landed just b4 the fielder and 2 runs conceded. 5 balls, 2 to win with a wicket left. I bowled 3 dot balls and the 5 th ball was a defensive shot and the batsmen started to run like hell. The ball went straight into the hands of the close fielder and it was a run out…YES we did it!!! it was the closet win for us and we could not believe ourselves. Hurrays all around us and we were into the FINALS….

The FINAL shot would be my nxt post…:)

No comments yet

Leave a comment

Tharunreddy

Tharun Reddy

Shame On Me!

Shame on those who are not helping to make this world a better place to live in.

FRANCOIS GAUTIER

THE OFFICIAL BLOG

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Thesis Whisperer

Just like the horse whisperer - but with more pages

Classroom as Microcosm

Siobhan Curious Says: Teachers are People Too

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

I've become my parents

Things my son needs to know before he grows up to be just like me.