Skip to content

My thoughts on Tamil MA – a “great” movie

November 8, 2008

tamilma

I write this as I don’t want to lose an other opportunity to express my feelings about something good. Normally, I don’t do that. I am a lazy goose and postpone things till i forget them.

For the past half an hour, I have a satisfying feeling of having watched a very good movie. In fact, great. Nowadays, I use this term great not often. You would know the reason if you go through my previous posts.

TAMIL M.A., one would just say “wow!!!!the movie was so realistic”. The film had released, I think a year ago. And I normally don’t watch movies which have a documentary effect. You may call me a fan of successfully running movies. I watch 90 percent of the movies when someone else had told me that it was good or if the reviews were encouraging. But today, at home, I got a chance of watching this film. At first, I hesitated. But slowly I grew interest in the movie and it was worth it. A powerful script backed by very lively performances – a rare combination one could feel nowadays in movies.

The movie of course dealt about a social cause and current situation in the society. It had to be realistic to portray such conditions. But it was so ideally filmed that you would rarely feel “why was this scene here” or “I could have been the director of this movie” (I donno abt others, but most of the times I feel that I cud have done more justice to the film than the director). The movie is all about a fellow who had done his masters in tamil literature and is void of recognition. He fumes for he has no on par recognition with other workforce in high profile jobs. Now, if you are a crooked mind, you might think, what is a high profile job?. I don’t want to get into any sort of interruption now because the high profile jobs here, as interpreted in the movie are those in IT. Back to my movie thoughts. He loses his love subject and is slowly transformed into a restless soul, marked by various circumstances. He starts killing people for pleasance until he finds his woman back. He gives a testimony to some media guy and goes on his way along with his love. The police finds them and they both die together on the rail tracks.

You might think it was as simple as any other normal movie. It isn’t. It is just that I was a bad narrator here. For a second, I had a feeling that even the Hollywood biggies would struggle to match the movie’s emotions. But later got that since they speak only English they wouldn’t have any such practical problems in their society. No Tamil MA’s there.

The climax, I thought was a bit disturbing. I sincerely feel that all those who are in such a state as the movie character’s should not get into a conclusion that their lives too would end like one. I feel that such an ending would always have a greater impact on people than a positive ending. At the end of it, it’s a movie and it will be forever.

All said, the movie is a must watch for any aspiring director or any human who love authentic movies.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Saravanan V permalink
    August 3, 2009 5:33 pm

    I would say there were some basic flaws in the justifications which were shadowed by the realistic potrays and overwhelming emotions (be it anger or love). But I was lost indeed, while watching this wonderful piece of work.. you dont get to watch such a movie very often in any language.. !!

Leave a comment

Tharunreddy

Tharun Reddy

Shame On Me!

Shame on those who are not helping to make this world a better place to live in.

FRANCOIS GAUTIER

THE OFFICIAL BLOG

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Thesis Whisperer

Just like the horse whisperer - but with more pages

Classroom as Microcosm

Siobhan Curious Says: Teachers are People Too

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

I've become my parents

Things my son needs to know before he grows up to be just like me.